Password Tip #4 – Self-imposed limitations

I was going to make this a video blog, unfortunately I do not have any sponsors yet and cannot afford to buy the ad-on to allow for video!  If you or anyone else you know is interested in sponsoring this blog, please leave me a comment and I’ll start the process!

I had my 13-month old daughter on my lap the other day as I was trying to enter a password  and realized that I had to do the whole thing with my left hand!  I hold her in my right arm and am not able to reach the keyboard with my right hand otherwise, she presses keys on the keyboard!

Imposing limitations decreases the overall complexity of a password by reducing the available pool of characters used.  It is therefore highly recommended to add length to your password!  My rule of thumb is to increase password length by one character every 4 elements removed from the available pool.

How to create your password:

  1. Identify your limitation
  2. Determine number of elements removed from available pool
  3. Calculate password minimum length
  4. Utilize one of the password creation schemes previously described, or your own favorite
  5. Manipulate the password to fit with your limitation

Example #1

  1. Not typing capital letters or symbols which lie to the right a specific column (such as 7-u-j-m) on the keyboard
  2. 18 elements removed (*()_+IOP{}|KL:”<>?)
  3. Minimum password length is 8 (default) + 4 (18/4 no remainder) = 12 characters
  4. ssP!0Nnkge (from this post)
  5. ssp#!QzNnkge (changed the P to p# and the 0 to Qz)

Example #2

  1. Not typing vowels as capital letters
  2. 5 elements removed (AEIOU)
  3. Minimum password length is 8 (default) + 1 (5/4 no remainder) = 9 characters
  4. ChCl#Ate5 (from this post)
  5. ChCl#^ate5 (changed the A to ^a)

Example #3

  1. Not typing the symbols which lie on the top row of the keyboard
  2. 16 elements removed (~`!@#$%^&*()_+-=)
  3. Minimum password length is 8 (default) + 4 (16/4) = 12 characters
  4. ChCl#Ate5 (from this post)
  5. C<h>C{l}Ate5 (replaced the # with } and placed an { before the preceding letter, added < and > around the second letter)

As always, do not use ssp#!QzNnkge, ChCl#^ate5 or C<h>C{l}Ate5 or any other example from this blog as your password!

Leave a Reply

